This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Explore vs 520 Plus

I did page through the forum looking to see if this had been asked before, apologies if I've missed it.

With comparable prices, I'm vacillating between the Edge Explore and the 520 Plus and wanted to ask why you chose the Explore

I'm leaning towards the Explore as I like the larger screen and I don't care much for Strava segments or power meter integration.....but as I'm fairly new to cycling I'm aware my needs/wants could change

I am a fan of Garmin products and want to stick with the brand so aren't looking outside. In case it's relevant I am currently using a Forerunner 645 Music watch for running.

Thanks in advance for any insights you can share
  • A very good resource for in-depth reviews is the webpage of dcrainmaker (you can just google dcrainmaker + edge explore/520 etc.). However he doesn't cover bugs, for that take a look in the respective subforums of the explore/520 plus.

THE reason for me not to consider the 520 Plus is that the memory space on the device is limited to about a single city worth of maps. Since I am interested in riding for fitness and multi-day touring it is not suitable for me. I'm always looking for a good combination of touring and sporting capabilities in a single device and the explore is the best compromise so far in my opinion.

The edge 1030 would probably do it all for much more money and also higher battery consumption which, when on tour is rather limited without a dynamo hub.
    The etrex 30x is much much better concerning gps reception, energy consumption (Two AA Batterys last close to 24h) and general versatility, but lacks training features and recording/uploading tracks is a bit inconvenient. (but the device is also very cheap)