Announcement

Collapse

Forum Upgrade

We’re excited to announce that the Garmin Forums will soon be moving to a new platform that should greatly improve our forum experience for everyone. We will update everyone as more information becomes available.
See more
See less

Anomalies in Power data from spinning bike (+ Garmin Connect question)

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anomalies in Power data from spinning bike (+ Garmin Connect question)

The gym I train at got Spinning-bikes with power meters (technogym group cycle connect) and I could add the powermeter as a sensor to my Fenix 5+ (as well as cadence). I've never used Power meters before for training so I was superexcited.
    Everything looked good during cycling, except for occasional sensor drop outs (going to test with different placements of the watch). Not a huge deal, since the sensors reconnects right away.

But when saving the activity I noticed some strange average and max power values.

The data recording showed several issues.
    1st test - 10 min with F5+ ;
    • 3 spikes up to 56 000 watts within the first 10 min (first at 97 sec)
    • over 5 power drops (to half power)
    2nd test - 35 min with F5+;
    • 1 sec Power spikes (random times in the first 10min and then every 60 seconds)
    • 2 sec Power drop (to exactly half value) every 65 seconds
    I’ve attached 2 graphs of 2nd test; one showing the spikes and one where spikes have been corrected so one can see the power drops. (Power is the blue line)

I borrowed a friends F5X on the same spinning bike and experienced no power spikes or half-value drops (but a few sensor drop-outs here as well). This makes me think the problem is not with the spinning bike but with the F5+.

I’m on the 5.58 Beta Firmware, so I’m going to try to roll back to 5.10 and see if that corrects the problem.

PS!
    This has now given me a very high FTP, w/kg, and possibly too high cycling VO2max.