This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Watch stops recording distance during activities

I have noticed in the past month or so that my watch stops recording distance for some reason, specially during open water swims. I have been using it for almost 2 years now, this is the first time I saw this happening. I swim every day, freestyle open water, never had an issue as far as distance covered is concerned. I know how to keep my hand out of the water in order to get GPS signal, never had a problem until last month. The same happened during a walk activity. The watch suddenly paused recording distance, but it kept on recording time. My pace during swimming is always between 1:30-2:10 or something per minute. In the photo below of today's swim you can see something went totally wrong. I am just wondering what that might be..

• Hmmm, ok, doesn't make much sense to me, but I'm curious to see the results. Anyway, I use smart recording all the time, and my open water swim tracks look quite ok. Never experienced issues with distance recording being aborted.

• I use smart recording too as the fit files are much smaller and battery charge lasts longer. But think of it like bread crumbs. The more you leave the more exact resolution of the trail path. That said, as I agree that smart recording would not affect whether or not one loses the GPS signal. It would only slightly decrease the recorded distance if there are any short deviations from a straight line (zig zag) or a turn around without pausing a few seconds with the hand above water.

• It would only slightly decrease the recorded distance if there are any short deviations from a straight line (zig zag)