This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Max Heart Rate - Integration Time

New 235 user here. I'm new to interval training, been doing medium/light strength training and rowing about 3 months. Just started doing all out intervals on the rower. The watch will often show max heart rates well over the value reported to Garmin Connect. I'm assuming that's simply due to averaging over a time period, but my question is: "How long do I have to sustain a given heart rate for that be reported for the day's max heart rate?"

Being new on my fitness journey, my max effort intervals are pretty short (currently doing 30s work / 1:30 rest), and I can hit 176 bpm as displayed on the watch, but then when I look at my logs it will show it as something like 138bpm. Does anyone know the averaging window size they're using or how this is calculated?

• Not sure where you are seeing the various values in Garmin connect.   But let me give some insight.

Your daily resting and maximum HR seen on the 'Daily Summary' and 'Report' are often.... not quite right.  Like clearly you'll do a workout and have HR well into the 170's for a numerous seconds or minutes... yet it will say max for the day is 164... I don't think there is any documented window for what that is considered.   Same goes for resting heart rate.   It is almost always 2-5beats higher then the clear resting heart rate from a casual check most days, sometimes higher... sometimes way low however.   So take those two numbers with a grain of salt.  Unfortunately you can not edit these two values... :-/

In a recorded workout actvity... the live heart rate is recorded and should display the maximum as part of one of the data points.   This should be right, and can find it on the heart rate graph.