This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Decreasing power reported by Rally XC200

I'm using the Garmin Rally XC200 for four weeks now. I calibrate the pedals before every ride. I do it as the last step before starting to ride, when I'm already outside.

On Monday I rode the same route as the first time using the pedals a month ago. I could compare the power on the same segments, in very similar conditions. At the same speed and over the same time the pedals measured 65-80 watts less than four weeks ago.

Here's some data from one of Strava's segments on the route:

Segment

I'm starting to have doubts about the reliability of the measurement. Any advice?

• Yes, I agree. I’ve been riding with power since 2002 and you can tell if there’s a major problem. I’ve owned Powertaps, Quark, these XC200’s. I just got the 4iiii dual, but I think I like a simple spider based PM like Quark. What are you using now?

Thanks JP

• For me, it really boiled down to installing the pedals at 34-35 Nm. In the past year, I have swapped them multiple times between a trainer bike, a road bike, and a gravel bike, always installing them with a torque wrench. The power numbers were always correct. I find it a bit hard though, that you need a proper tool for the pedals to work. Especially that one can't use a hex key for installation. I ended up buying a special crow foot extension to be able to properly install them with a torque wrench.

So when it comes to power numbers, I cannot complain. The pedals seem very reliable and I never experienced any dropouts.