This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Replace Edge 25 Internal Battery?

Has anyone worn out the internal battery and replaced it? I've been using the 25 almost daily for the past 18 months and the low battery warning comes on about a half hour after a full charge when it's below freezing outside. Looks like the unit is sealed with four "star" screws for which I don't have the bit. I'd be willing to purchase that bit and a battery if the install procedure is straight forward.
  • Paseo maplewood

No but it should be pretty straightforward. You might have to do a bit of soldering/hot gluing for connecting the battery to the piezo buzzer. newpower99.com has batteries for older Garmins; they might be able to help you out. They have instructional videos as well:l https://www.youtube.com/user/NewLife2OldStuff

Share the details if you manage to get it done. ;)
  • Opened up the Edge 25 using a T5 torx bit to remove the four screws. The coin-style battery is on the left and is in a tight metal frame with a metal tab. Note that that tab at bottom center needs to remain in that position to properly power the Garmin. The red/black wires do not go to the battery, but to the speaker. The sound comes out the four tiny pin holes at the center of the twist mount. The battery is stamped with the designation PD2430C1 - a 3.7 Volt, 110 mAh Lithium Ion cell measuring 24.5 x 3.15mm:

http://www.routejade.com/en/html/product/

I was able to readily find PD2430 cells for sale at about $13, but these are only rated for 100 mAh, and it would be nice to have that extra 10% capacity of the Garmin OEM cell:

http://www.thebatterystore.com/powerdiscpd243037v100mahli-ionrechargeablecoincell.aspx