This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

GPX Tracks and Waypoints

Dear community,
I am a total newbie with GARMIN so my problem may not even be related to Edge 1030.
I used to have a Twonav device that I mainly used to follow predefined tracks which was fine. The 1030 should add value to this by being able to route (which it can do) and also adds online functionality (which I am having issues with but this is a separate thread).

My problem:
I created a lot of POIs (point of interest) and also a lot of GPX tracks. Depending on the track some of these POIs are attached to the GPX files (whenever a track comes "close" to a POI it was added to the track and will show with the tag "<cmt> <name of POI> </cmt> and (optionally) with an assigned symbol (tags <sym> ...</sym> in the XML).
When I import the GPX as an activity into Garmin connect this will work. Converting it into a course will create the FIT file that I can upload/synch with the 1030. Unfortunately the POIs are getting lost although the FIT format obviously supports the handling of POIs. I am able to add them manually to the course - time consuming and boring. I was using CompeGPSLand - a very simple program that allows you to drag and drop the POIs to the track - deal done.
Is this possible with the 1030 as well or will I lose this capability?

Any kind of hint is very much appreciated. Thanks a lot - I am close to giving up frustrated:-(
  • The Garmin Edges don't use POIs as part of the course. So there's no reason to include them in the fit file.

It's not clear how you are using the POIs.

The Edges can use "course points", which are sort-of like POIs. These are usually used for turn instructions. They have to match a point on the track.

Garmin Connect doesn't support course points very well (it includes them only for some units, not all of them).