This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Can Anyone Confirm that the Auto Sleep (not auto pause) function is working on their Edge 1000 please?

In an attempt to extend battery life for rides above the current 72 miles (battery dies after 7 hours of activity including cafe stops), I re visited the' Auto Sleep' feature in the activity profile.

I found that it was already turned on. On reflection, I cant say that i have EVER seen my device turn off during a stop of 5 or more minutes and I've been using the edge for at least 5 years!

The battery life is now further reduced than it was because I now use a Varia Radar RTL515.

I contacted Garmin who said I needed an out of warranty exchange costing £195! I was told that the 1000 is now quite old and that Garmin are unlikely to investigate this! Wow!!!

What I would like to establish is, if anyone else has the same problem or not. I'm running the latest firmware/software and have carried out the usual device factory resets as requested by Garmin. The Auto Sleep will still not work.

The device DOES go to sleep if I turn it on and leave it on the desk with NO AVTIVITY being recorded - it just won't go to sleep when no movement is detected (regardless of the period of inactivity) during a ride. I can also initiate Sleep mode by pressing the Pause button, pressing the Power button and then selecting sleep in the Power Options.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

• You are misunderstanding this.

The device can be put to sleep in exactly the same way as you would a PC. A low power state is entered and all data is retained in the memory. On waking up you continue from exactly where you left off.

In the case of the Garmin, putting the device to sleep can be achieved manually - the internal time clock is unaffected :

• Press the stop button (lower right)
    • Long press the power button