New European TopoActive 2020.10 Map Causing Map Lag on Fenix 6 Series and Tactix Delta

Former Member
Former Member

I installed the new map as well. After updating it took a very long time untill the watchface appeared, installing the map. I made some routes but when i choose one i only get a white screen when zooming out i only see a basemap no details. When i use Around Me i onley see the watchr spinnig endlessly.  I did a hard and soft reset but it took about  2.30 minutes to only  load the maps after reboot, it had never been so slow before.

Then I did a reinstallation of  the Europe Topo maps through GE  but again the time after restart  was as before.

Then i did a Master Reset (delete all user settings). Again sync watch (but not reinstall maps). Hard and soft reset. Now duration for loading maps after reboot  is about 40 to 50 seconds, shorter than before but again too long.... 

I don't know if that's normal for this update....

Today I did a base run everything was OK. I seem a little laggy at  zoom map and I haven't  tried Around Me.

So maybe  there’s definitely  wrong with the map update or I miss something or Garmin???

• BTW, one thing i noticed now I have only installed a self-downloaded OSM map of my own country, is that I sometimes see very odd altitude, something I have never seen before on my F6X. Anyone else has that experience? Could it be due to as missing DEM map, because I guess it needs some kind of reference for altitude calibration?

• For all customers still experiencing an issue with their map latency when all maps are installed.

- IF you have already deleted the map images off your watch while plugged into your computer AND reinstalled all maps back to your watch using Garmin Express BUT still continue to have serious map latency issues when using the map on your Fenix 6 Pro series watch, please highlight my name and send me a Private Message. Thank you!

• Hi Chris. I send you a private message