New European TopoActive 2020.10 Map Causing Map Lag on Fenix 6 Series and Tactix Delta

Former Member
Former Member

I installed the new map as well. After updating it took a very long time untill the watchface appeared, installing the map. I made some routes but when i choose one i only get a white screen when zooming out i only see a basemap no details. When i use Around Me i onley see the watchr spinnig endlessly.  I did a hard and soft reset but it took about  2.30 minutes to only  load the maps after reboot, it had never been so slow before.

Then I did a reinstallation of  the Europe Topo maps through GE  but again the time after restart  was as before.

Then i did a Master Reset (delete all user settings). Again sync watch (but not reinstall maps). Hard and soft reset. Now duration for loading maps after reboot  is about 40 to 50 seconds, shorter than before but again too long.... 

I don't know if that's normal for this update....

Today I did a base run everything was OK. I seem a little laggy at  zoom map and I haven't  tried Around Me.

So maybe  there’s definitely  wrong with the map update or I miss something or Garmin???

• I'm still on 9.0 but have the problems. Not FW related. 

• The Topo maps will work just not the golf or ski maps. You could probably get away with leaving the ski map enabled. I think the issue is somehow related the the sup maps & dem1 interaction 

• I haven't dem1 file on my device because it cause an issue with elevation plot, so it's not the cause.

• @garmin Is there confirmation for this issue. It seems to be a reproducible problem?

• I found the solution that works for me in another thread: https://forums.garmin.com/outdoor-recreation/outdoor-recreation/f/fenix-6-series/224749/6-series-map-file-details/1061305#1061305

The problem is not in Europe Topo map but the combination of Golf CourseView Maps (gmapsup1, gmapsup2, gmapsup3) and Golf CourseView DEM map (gmapdem1).