How to get a more accurate current pace?

I love my Fenix 6, but when I'm trail running, the current pace can be very inaccurate. I'm aware that tree cover makes the GPS less accurate, which in turn will give an inaccurate current pace.

Are there any ways of getting a better current pace? Does anyone have any luck with some of the pace data fields in the app store?

Would a Garmin Foot Pod give an accurate pace?

• I have nothing but good things to say about Stryd.
    Once you find the right calibration factor, I find it to be extremely consistent across all speeds and conditions.

Allthough I have no personal experience with the Garmin FP, I've heard from others around here that it's more difficult (impossible?) to calibrate properly as it requires different calibration factors for different speeds.

• Need to look into Stryd. It's a pretty big investment compared to the Garmin FP though ($219 vs $69).

I have zero experience with running power. Is it really that valuable as an additional metric?

• I find my lactate threshold pace and HR estimated by Garmin to be quite sensible for flat road running, and that the critical power estimated by Stryd matches up to that quite good, so when running hills I find the power metric much more useful instead of pace for controlling intensity.

• Hi,

I bought Garmin Footpod as I want accurate pace when I'm running on track.

As SAHO wrote, you need to calibrate it for different paces, for example this workout:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/4168024919

I ran 3x3km - 1st 3km I had calibrated FP for slower pace - result 3.09km

next 3km I tried to recalibrate it and I get 3.03km and finally on the last one I got good calibration factor - 3km.

Maybe Stryd is better but very expensive :/

• As other say a foot pod is probably the best choice if you really want current pace.