Using the dive planner (new user)

Hi. I am new to the Descent MK1 (and diving in general), and have a basic question. I’m trying to figure out the dive planner. It seems that it computes NDL, assuming you’ll max out your dive? Ie., you enter depth and it tells you maximum minutes or you enter minutes and it tells you max depth, both of which get you to the NDL threshold? I’m trying to figure out how I would plan a dive that falls under the NDL for the dive, and then factor the residual nitrogen into the next dive, similar to how it would be done using the RDP tables. Maybe I’m thinking about it wrong. Can anybody give me some insight on this?

Thanks,
Mark

• Yes, Oceanic has DSAT and PZ+. But the PZ+ is a version of Bühlmann?
    Here is good site on this:
    https://dipndive.com/blog/dive-computer-algorithms-for-dummies/

"The Pelagic Z+ is based on the popular Bühlmann ZHL-16C algorithm and was developed to safely maximize dive times at depth without penalizing the diver for performing repetitive deeper dives."

• "Based on" not "version of".  It has been modified so it is effectively a different algorithm.

Here's a graph showing the NDLs from a dive (on air) with my Perdix (Bülhmann ZHL-16C with 40/85 same as my Mk1) and my Oceanic Atom 3.0 (PZ+ with conservatism off).  While they track pretty closely in the early stages of the dive, with the Atom being slightly more liberal, after 60 minutes the Atom becomes significantly more conservative.

The other thing I find with PZ+ is it is not at all forgiving with Deco.  I had a dive where I went into deco but was right on the cusp. I stayed in the cusp for quite some time before ascending slowly. The Mk1 cleared deco before I hit 5m and I just suggested a 5 minute safety stop.  The Perdix had me do 3 minutes of Deco and then my safety stop.  The Atom wanted 35 minutes of deco!

When I get some time I'll graph up NDLs from second dives comparing the Perdix to the Atom with PZ+ but it is quite different.