Using the dive planner (new user)

Hi. I am new to the Descent MK1 (and diving in general), and have a basic question. I’m trying to figure out the dive planner. It seems that it computes NDL, assuming you’ll max out your dive? Ie., you enter depth and it tells you maximum minutes or you enter minutes and it tells you max depth, both of which get you to the NDL threshold? I’m trying to figure out how I would plan a dive that falls under the NDL for the dive, and then factor the residual nitrogen into the next dive, similar to how it would be done using the RDP tables. Maybe I’m thinking about it wrong. Can anybody give me some insight on this?

Thanks,
Mark

• The Descent is telling you the maximum NDL for your next dive at the selected depth taking your previous dives into account. So it is factoring in the residual nitrogen into the NDL it is giving you. 

• Thank you for the reply. So, when I enter a surface interval and the dive depth again, is the new data that it shows for the dive that is after my next dive (after the next surface interval)? If so, then it must be using my current residual nitrogen from dives that I actually completed that day, plus the full NDL from the next dive, followed by the reduction in nitrogen from that surface interval following my next dive (?).

• Yes, it is showing you the NDL for the dive you are planning given the estimated residual Nitrogen in your body. If you plan the same dive for Dive 1 and Dive 2, you should get different NDLs. 

• If you plan the same dive for Dive 1 and Dive 2, you should get different NDLs. 

You definitely should!

Unfortunately, the dive planner is clearly broken and it gives you the same NDL for both dives regardless of the surface interval.

Note that this was the first time I tried to use the dive planner on the Mk1.