Some early thoughts (review) on my MK1

I recently did a diving week at Glovers reef in Belize and took my old Suunto D6 and my new Garmin MK1. Here are some very preliminary and poorly sorted observations on what came out of both dive computers.

I am not an expert with either watch really, so any feature or limitation I note may be my own ignorance.

So, for two dives at Glovers Reef Belize. My Suunto battery died, or I would have compared more.
  • With Garmin on conservative settings, it warned of nearing NDL shortly before the Suunto (very close, maybe 10 seconds).
  • Wrist vibration and longer form written messages are superior to a simple beep. Less confusion as to what watch is telling you.
  • Garmin measured colder temps then Suunto (27C vs 26C). Between 1C and .5C difference depending on dive. May be due to where temperature is measured on watch (i.e. closer to body)
  • Garmin Connect does not seem to log warnings that the watch made (e.g. ascent rate) even although it did warn me underwater. Does not show on Connect platform. Suunto shows this in their platform.
  • Interestingly the bottom time was different on both dives. I attribute this to auto turn on delays (Dive1: MK1 43:45 vs D6 42) (Dive2: MK1 59:54 vs D6 58) or Suunto Battery state. As I recall, the Suunto was left to auto trigger, and MK1 was on the dive page.
  • I think Garmin may sample more frequently, as depth plots appear to have more detail.
  • Suunto Dive Manager tool is better than the web interface for analyzing data IMO. For Garmin, not sure if there are dive depth tables anywhere (I tried exporting from gear icon and got options to export "ORIGINAL (.fit)" which is a binary file and GPX which Chrome gave an error stating “Failed – no file”). More info may be in the .fit file, but not able to find anything that will read it yet.