No announcement yet.

GPS 4.4 and improvement in accuracy

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPS 4.4 and improvement in accuracy

Huge and visible improvement in accuracy from 4.30 to 4.40 (received in an OTA update).

Similar reports from others?

I've had the update for awhile. Actually forgot about it. Pehaps its a fluke. but twice during recent long runs, the GPS went wonky and became skewed. Its as if one of the x-y-z axis values suddenly has off but about 50-100yards. For example. Imagine running around an over track 10 times. You'd basically expect to see 10 circles mostly on top of each other. But what I saw is that some of those laps would be shifted. but only in one axis. like it was blurred or double vision. I've had that happen a few times lately.

Comment

I have been doing the same out and back for a couple of months and yesterdays trail run seemed much more accurate except for a huge discrepancy at the start point where it had me 40 feet down a hill in the poison oak. Granted this is under tree cover but the GPS did signal as locked next to my vehicle. Normally when I hit a couple of stream crossings deep in between some huge boulders I get some widely varying tracks but not much now.

Comment

Hello guys,

I’m curious. What GPS settings do you use? GPS only or with GLONASS?

Regards,

Jim
        Garmin devices: Fenix 5 Plus, Varia Vision, Varia Radar, Speed/Cadence Sensors, and Edge® Remote Control
        (Retired/Sold: Edge 705, Edge 1000, Fenix 5x)

Comment

Not noticed any improvements - that I can see. Its never done badly around these parts though. I ride most single track - a lot under coverage. I use a speed sensor now too - helps things along.

I use 1 second and gps only. I played with glonass before but found It seemed less accurate - found a lot more join the dot straight lines, like it got confused/lost signal but just joined two points.

Comment