No announcement yet.

Novice swimmer, missing lots of laps with the 935

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novice swimmer, missing lots of laps with the 935

I feel like the lap detection heuristics of the Garmin watches are designed with expert swimmers in mind and are failing me.

I am not an expert swimmer. I swim slow, I have poor form. I don't do flip turns, and my 935 consistently misses laps.

The thing is, it counts strokes very accurately. I swim a consistently slow 3:00-3:10 minutes per 100 meters, about 14-15 strokes a lap, and the watch gets every stroke. But the watch will just decide periodically that my last 50 meters was actually 25, with twice as many strokes, swum at twice my normal pace.

If I religiously do a fast tomahawk chop at every turn with my watch arm, I can get it to count almost every lap. But this is not a very natural motion and a frequently forget, ending up with 100 meters counted as 75, or even sometimes 50 (and then it gives me a PR for my amazingly doubled speed). I imagine if I was good at fast flip turns this wouldn't be a problem.

It's clear that the threshold for turn detection is set far too high, and appears to only trigger very simplistically on the acceleration of your watch arm.

It's clearly not taking into account swim time, pauses in strokes, or stroke count.

If you looked at the raw data, there's voluminous information that even a very simplistic algorithm could use to figure out how many laps there were, and when the turn occurred.

Is there any way to get in touch with the Garmin product managers and get them to take a look at the data from some of us less than perfect swimmers? I don't think it would take a lot of work to dramatically improve lap detection. If you are worried about breaking things for the experts, I imagine you could offer two modes, or a swimming skill level that engages different algorithms,