Forerunner935 wrong stroke type detection

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forerunner935 wrong stroke type detection

Hello,
    I have a recently bought forerunner 935 that i use on my swim classes.
    I made three sessions in three diferente days. First one was for learning how the device works. As i'm on swim classe i use a lot the Drill Log.
    When not in Drill Log the stroke type detection is always wrong when i swim free (crawl), with the watch assumming always breaststroke.
    The backstroke is always well identified. This happened in all sessions.
    After the second session i watched a Garmin youtube video about stroke accuracy. Then i tried at home (as in the video), yes in a dry mode, and after a few tries the free stroke was detected by the watch. Then i tried breast stroke and it kept detecting free.
    Last monday, at the pool, i swam always free the most accurately possible and it detected again breast. Several lengths.

I'm not a pro that's sure, but also not that bad.

Any one experienced the same? This might be a problem with the accelerometer, or just i should keep training hoping that my technic and the watch finally find each other.

Finally i'm amazed with the watch and Garmin is known for its quality. It's expensive thats also true but when there's quality, money is worthy. For this reason, i'm trying to solve this litle but annoying issue.
    Last edited by ToniSilva; 07-25-2018, 08:04 AM.

ToniSilva have never had a serious problem with stroke detection in either Garmin Swim, 920 or 935 and my technique is very far from perfect. I have had occasional blips usually when in a crowded pool and having to change direction or modify stroke to avoid people.