Edge 200 Continual GPS Signal Loss

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Edge 200 Continual GPS Signal Loss

Hi, I've been using an Edge 200 for 6 months without any problems. However, about a week ago it suddenly started losing the GPS signal on a regular basis, and it takes about 3 miles before it re-acquires. Also, I have noticed that the changes in speed are being reflected significantly slower than previously, and I often see a significant decrease in speed for about 30 seconds while I'm actually increasing in speed on the bike.

I have tried a master reset, and also left the device outside for half-an hour to ensure it has a good signal lock. The signal loss is occurring in areas where I have a wide open view of the sky.

Can the sensors in these units go faulty after a time? I haven;t damaged the unit, as far as I'm aware.

Any advice on this issue would be appreicated.

Many thanks,

Jeff.

How much history is stored on the unit?

Look in the Garmin\Activites folder on the Edge when it is connected to a PC.
    - Alan

Comment

Hi Alan, I cleared the history file down shortly after the problems started appearing. I also did a master reset. Up to that point it was quite full, but it only has 10 fit files in that folder now.

Jeff.

Comment

Do you have any courses or anything in the Garmin\NewFiles folder?
        - Alan

Comment

Hi Alan, the Garmin\NewFiles folder is currently empty.

Jeff.

Comment

You could try rebuilding the file system on the Edge.

Copy any activities or courses off the Edge that you would want to restore. They can be found in
            Garmin\Activities
            Garmin\Courses

Next using the PC right click on the Edge and select "Format". Use FAT and switch the quick format off.

Once the Edge disk has been reformatted unpack the attached zip file and copy the contents to the Edge disk. Unmount from the PC and switch it on. Place outside for 10 minutes or so to rebuild the GPS satellite cache.