Developing custom firmware mods for (legacy) Forerunner 201

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Developing custom firmware mods for (legacy) Forerunner 201

Hi Everyone!

Unsure if this forum is the right place for this; please do let me know otherwise

Wondering if it's possible to develop a coordinate convertor for the old Forerunner 201, to go from Lat./Long. to UTM NAD27 (at least). I received the FR201 as a gift a WHILE ago, and now hoping to be able to use it as a backup GPS while trekking as well. I know I should probably upgrade to a ForeTrex but curious if this creative experiment is possible. Full disclosure: I have no experience in app development. I'm familiar with the math behind the conversions and trying to gauge how easy it is to talk to the FR201 to upload custom firmware. I'd work with someone more experienced to create the actual app, if this is possible. I tried a cursory search on the forums but couldn't find anything for older units (I'll look again with different terms).

Please let me know if there are any questions.

Cheers

Thats not possible no. There are no compilers published for non connect iq devices.
    My best Connect IQ apps:Other:

Comment

You may be lucky, like this chap, and find that you can reverse engineer the firmware to the point that you are able to update firmware or add new functionality.

Comment

Thanks, Peter yeah I figured. Any idea what language the original firmware may have been written in?

PubBike, yeah I've looked at that! So cool. I can easily open the .rgn file for the 2006 (latest) firmware update for the FR201 (linked below), and can make basic visual changes to the text strings. It's just the hex file, so not much else I can do there, in terms of compiling new functionality to be added onto it. But will keep looking.