PDA

View Full Version : Help me understand footpod calibration

TRYING2GOFAST
01-11-2012, 06:45 PM
If my footpod calibration factor is 820 with one pair of shoes and 859 with another pair, does that mean I'm lighter on my feet (less impact per distance traveled) in the 820 pair, or the other one? I think it's the former?

BBECKER39
01-12-2012, 09:30 AM
I'm not an expert here, but I believe your foot pod calibration factors will have much more to do with your stride and gait than the weight of your foot impact. The ANT+ sensors use accelerometers to track your stride, and are not simply counting foot impacts.

TRYING2GOFAST
01-12-2012, 04:49 PM
The shoes aren't so different that I'd expect my gait to be so radically different. Heel/toe drop, support level, pretty similar. I didn't have any particular muscle soreness going to the newer pair (the 820s) that would suggest I'm running that much differently. I'm sure there's something I can learn from this if I only knew what it was. Hope someone with more knowledge of the footpods can weigh in.

KARLW2000
01-13-2012, 10:17 AM
I'm not an expert here, but I believe your foot pod calibration factors will have much more to do with your stride and gait than the weight of your foot impact. The ANT+ sensors use accelerometers to track your stride, and are not simply counting foot impacts.There is no doubt in my mind that shoes change the calibration. I have light racing shoes to heavy trail shoes and several training shoes in between. If I run the same distance (1 loop around my block) at the same pace, I will get significantly difference results. I just bought a new pair of Mizunos - same shoe, newer model. Incredibly, these new shoes felt a lot heavier and I got 3% longer distance on the exact same run/speed as I did the day before.

BBECKER39
01-16-2012, 07:50 AM