PDA

View Full Version : 310XT Distance seems way out??



TINGOPHER
09-23-2009, 04:49 PM
Hi
It may be me, but I have just bought the Garmin 310XT and decided to go for a short run just to test the GPS more than anything, only to find what should have been a 1.2 mile route around farm land came out as 8.99 miles?? Perhaps it's glitch but just wondered if anyone else had experienced anything similar.

SEILOGRAMP
09-23-2009, 07:06 PM
I think it is likely you have not reset the device after and/or before that run. Did you upload it to Garmin Connect? If so, post a link to your activity. We might be able to determine the cause.

NDURANCERIDER
09-23-2009, 09:10 PM
Also, make sure you have a good satellite lock before pressing start and taking off. Otherwise you might see those distance jumps as the satellite locks onto your position.

April

TINGOPHER
09-24-2009, 01:58 PM
thank you very much for your help, ill try and get the info onto this forum and see if it makes sense. the lack of satellite lock might also explain it as I was aked "have you moved 100's of miles away from the units last use?"

thanks again

DW152
09-24-2009, 04:36 PM
The first thing to do is to look at a plot of your run. If it gets erratic and has you jumping all over, then it probably lost satellite lock in the middle of your run.

TINGOPHER
09-25-2009, 11:46 AM
http://connect.garmin.com/activity/14135194

heres a link to my run, looking at it its fairly consistant with where I started the run and finished. The run is 1.2 miles after checking it on google earth and measuring it.

JOHN313
09-25-2009, 02:27 PM
Looking at your splits, there is clearly a problem.
Mile 1 = 00:04:09
Mile 2 = 00:00:02
Mile 3 = 00:00:00
Mile 4 = 00:00:01
Mile 5 = 00:00:01
Mile 6 = 00:00:01
Mile 7 = 00:00:01
Mile 8 = 00:02:59
+.97 miles = 00:09:28
+.02 miles = 00:01:34

So it appears that the device went wacky around the middle of mile 1 and registered about 7 miles in 5 seconds and then maybe got back on track.

I would try the same run again and see if it wasn't a one-time anomaly.

In the player, the starting position already shows 7.65 miles.

TINGOPHER
09-26-2009, 05:15 PM
thanks John, I'm going to give the watch a proper tst in the morning... fingers crossed I'm not doing 30 second miles again :)

KAYOV
11-09-2009, 06:54 AM
Hi, i just ran the "Maratona do Porto", with my 310xt...

I'm very confused, the distance in my garmin was 43.24 km, 1km more than the real course distance.
I checked all my friends that used the 305 and all were very similar and a lot less then mine!

Here are the tracks:

310xt: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/18368410 - 43.24 km

305: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/18325240 - 42.54 km

305: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/18369365 - 42.51 km

Any idea why?

MADEUPNAME
11-09-2009, 03:11 PM
I have no idea.... but as a wild guess I'd say that the elevation gain probably has a lot to do with it.

The 2x 305's are both under 2,000 feet where as your 310 is over 5,000 feet. You sure you ran the same course?? ;)

ALAALA
11-09-2009, 03:22 PM
I have no idea.... but as a wild guess I'd say that the elevation gain probably has a lot to do with it.

The 2x 305's are both under 2,000 feet where as your 310 is over 5,000 feet. You sure you ran the same course?? ;)

I thought so, too, at first, but neither the 310 nor connect calculates in 3D, AFAIK. Has that changed?

KAYOV
11-09-2009, 04:02 PM
Yeah, as you can see in the map the course was exacly the same :)
About the elevation diference, that's really wierd too, but it's a minor problem...

MADEUPNAME
11-10-2009, 05:00 AM
Yeah, as you can see in the map the course was exacly the same :)
About the elevation diference, that's really wierd too, but it's a minor problem...

Except that the vertical difference may also account for the horizontal discrepancy between the same routes.

PRISMIC
11-11-2009, 02:25 AM
Guys, mine did the same exact thing on a run today...

On a route I've taken a million times with my 305 and know down to the hundredth of a mile, the 310XT calculated the first mile correctly and then started buzzing/beeping all over the place (indicating "lap updates") as it added 2 miles within a matter of 10-15 seconds. I know these devices very well (went from 201 to 301 to 305 over the years and now 310), and certainly let it warm up completely before taking off on my run. Like I said, it had the first mile dialed in no problem. There was nothing fancy about this run/route, and I've never experienced any problems with the 305.

This was my fourth run with the 310. The first was a marathon, which it had no problems on (thankfully). The second was a 5 mile run with my group again with no problems. The third was on a treadmill with my foot pod where it randomly stopped counting distance, even though the pace was on with the treadmill the whole time. After reading another thread on here ("indoor exercise"), I'm guessing that's from it not being smart enough to cut off the GPS once the foot pod was detected. My fourth run was my experience today, and I'm really questioning why I paid $350 for this device.

I upgraded from the trusty 305 I've had for years because the start/stop button on the 305 was starting to stick and would stop/start during some of my long runs. However, the idea that those who upgrade need to make concessions on age-old features like being able to view weekly history was already bad enough. The fact that this thing isn't even working like it's supposed to just sends it over the top. I guess I'll be using my 305 while I look to send this thing back for "repair." Just amazing.

The real experiment will be to see how Garmin handles all of this. Obviously there are multiple 310 models out there with these problems (distance randomly jumping, foot pod issues), so let's see how quickly we're able to maybe get a firmware update. I'm usually a pretty patient early adopter of new models like this, but this is ridiculous.