PDA

View Full Version : Calorie Count on FR610 vs Polar FT60

DANIELM69
05-25-2011, 09:33 AM
I'm new to Garmin. I've had my FR610 for a week now and I like it. However, the one thing that I did notice is the difference in calorie count between a Garmin and a Polar. I know that this has been discussed in other forums (FR410). I read those posts when I was researching going to Garmin and was concerned with the big difference noted. So when I got my 610 last week I did some side by side tests. Here's what I saw.

Relatively easy training wearing both HRM's. Polar at the top and Garmin below and I kept this is the same for all tests.
Test 1:
Time: 26:49. Distance: 2.91m
FR610 Cals: 343
FT 60 Cals: 458
Diff: 115

Test 2:
Time: 45:02. Distance: 4.00m
FR610 Cals: 485
FT 60 Cals: 626
Diff: 141

Test 3:
Time: 56:20. Distance: 4.52m
FR610 Cals: 573
FT 60 Cals: 751
Diff: 178

Test 4:
Time: 60:00. Distance: 4.36m
FR610 Cals: 401
FT 60 Cals: 604
Diff: 203

Some questions that I ask when I have two measuring instruments measuring the same thing under the same conditions with different results are:
1) Which measuring instrument is correct?
2) Is either of them correct?

As shown, the difference becomes larger with time. I noted during the runs that my heart rate was within 1 beat on both the garmin and Polar. So that's good. I believe what this shows is that the calculations (Algorithms) that First Beat Technologies and Polar use seem to be vastly different.

With all of that being said, a 200cal difference on a 1 hour "brisk walk" is huge. How much will it be when I run a half marathon?

So my solution is I'll be the geek wearing 2 watches. The Polar for HRM and the Garmin for everything else. My goal was to combine both into the Garmin, but it doesn't appear that will work out!

:)

BIT101
05-25-2011, 09:47 AM
I've noticed that the 610 reports quite a bit lower on calories than my Garmin FR 305 did.

This might help: