PDA

View Full Version : 310XT and Training Peaks shows odd dropouts

DCRAINMAKER
09-12-2009, 03:41 PM
I'm seeing something strange when I upload files to TP from the TCX files. While this might be a TP thing, it's more likely a 310XT thing given it looks like dropouts in the files. It appears that Garmin Connect simply 'connects the dots' instead of showing the dropouts, whereas TP will show the dropouts. Which leads to the question of why is there dropouts? This is on a run with the latest (2.6) firmware. I'm not seeing this with the 705, 405 or 305 when uploading to TP.

To see the dropouts*, check out this run - and click the Graph tab:

http://tpks.ws/HFNs

*Note, the only 'legit' dropout is the one at the 4 minute marker, since that's when I paused the device for a brief moment.

DW152
09-12-2009, 04:57 PM
I think (but not sure) that this is similar to a problem I had when I first started using my 310 with Ascent. I'm not an expert at this, but the 310 has a slightly different format than say, the 305, because the 310 will record HRM values at times without GPS, and vice versa. In other words, there may be points with GPS values, but no HR values.

From seilogramp on the MB forum:

Also, you might won't to look at your tcx file in something like notepad rather than Ascent. That's what I did and could not find any HR values with zero data. It has been brought to my attention that the 310XT will have trackpoints that have HR data and trackpoints with HR data and no other data. Ascent will show these as trackpoints with 0 for HR. This gives the appearance that the 310XT has dropped values. So, this is really an Ascent issue and you should bring it to their attention.

MUSILJAN
09-13-2009, 08:01 PM