PDA

View Full Version : HR and Calories Issue

TOUGHCREEK
09-09-2009, 11:47 AM
Just pulled my 310xt with HR monitor out of it's box for the first time yesterday and ran an easy 4 miles. It is my first time tracking HR, so the inexperience is the reason for this thread.

Profile: I am a 34 year-old male, 180 lbs., have just gotten into running over the past 6 months, and am putting in 5-ish hours/week of running.

First I noticed my HR at rest... 50 bpm. Seemed kind of low.
During the run, my HR got up to 219, averaging 178 across the run. I wasn't exerting myself much... could still carry on conversation. Is this high? I did have the monitor around chest just above the bottom of my sternum, and I wet the electrodes.

Calorie burn was recorded at 68 C over the 4 mile distance. I know this is wrong. Any ideas on how to make this more accurate?

I'll try it again today during an 8-miler and see how it goes.

TOUGHCREEK
09-09-2009, 11:49 AM
Here is the Garmin Connect (http://connect.garmin.com/player/12916059) info on my 4-miler.

SEILOGRAMP
09-09-2009, 12:23 PM
First I noticed my HR at rest... 50 bpm. Seemed kind of low.

It's all relative to what it used to be. Your resting heart rate was probably higher before you started your running regimen.

During the run, my HR got up to 219, averaging 178 across the run. I wasn't exerting myself much... could still carry on conversation. Is this high?

Again, relative to what? Compared to me, that is quite high. My max is probably around 168. Around 120 for an easy paced run. But everyone's different, so I wouldn't be alarmed. Going forward, if you are going to do training based on heart rate you should have your max HR tested.

Calorie burn was recorded at 68 C over the 4 mile distance. I know this is wrong. Any ideas on how to make this more accurate