PDA

View Full Version : Endurance Easy Run HR Question for the pros

babycap
01-07-2011, 10:27 AM
Hello Garmin World: I am a novice runner with a 10K under my belt and avg. about 20-30 miles per week. I have a question for the more experienced runners concerning my endurance/easy runs.

I prefer to run outdoors and have a few routes that are convenient for me. However, these routes have some long gradual inclines that always sends my HR up to as much as 95% max momentarily.

My question is what do the pros suggest in terms of pace and/or HR when I run these routes on my easy days. I am under the impression that on my easy days I should not be running so hard as to get my HR to 95% of max. But, for me, in order to keep my HR in the moderate range when I run these inclines I would have to reduce my pace far below what is suggested for my easy runs.

I am confused because I am not sure if I should be watching my pace or HR more. Should I slow down when I hit the inclines to keep my HR moderate or should I keep the same pace? Once the incline is over and I am back on level ground my HR returns to a more moderate rate.

One last point to add is that I run early in the morning and I always have an incline in the first mile.

Thanks very much for your help.

CARRINGTONCYR
01-18-2011, 06:51 PM
The key to your runs is not pace, but rather the intensity that you run. For your easy runs, you're going to want to slow your pace down to keep your heart rate in the range you're shooting for. As your level of fitness improves over time, you should see your pace increase in relation to your heart rate.

The guide lines that tell you to run a certain pace in relation to a particular heart rate are exactly that "guide lines" they can't take into account how steep the terrain is that you're running over. Your body really has no idea how "fast" its running, only how hard it has to work to get there.