PDA

View Full Version : Zoom levels



NWA4EVER
07-14-2010, 12:34 AM
Hi all

I just purchased a Garmin 78, and have created several custom maps. I was wondering if it is possible to change what "Zoom" level the custom maps are displayed at. Currently they show up at 500m and below, but I would like to start seeing them at 2 km or so. Thanks in advance!

stephencreek
07-15-2010, 12:29 PM
It may be possible, but I've never found a way. It seems that the unit chooses what zoom levels to used based on the resolution of your map.

OTOH, BirdsEye is much more flexible and shows through a very wide range of zoom levels. And it also renders faster on the screen. Too bad that we can't create our own maps in the .jnx format. :)

NWA4EVER
07-16-2010, 05:09 PM
Thanks, I still haven't found a way. Oh yeah, the 100 map limit is annoying too! Other than that, wow...I am very impressed with the Garmin 78.